Narset of the Ancient Way
Legendary Planeswalker — Narset
+1: You gain 2 life. Add {U}, {R}, or {W}. Spend this mana only to cast a noncreature spell.
−2: Draw a card, then you may discard a card. When you discard a nonland card this way, Narset of the Ancient Way deals damage equal to that card's mana value to target creature or planeswalker.
−6: You get an emblem with "Whenever you cast a noncreature spell, this emblem deals 2 damage to any target."
Yongjae Choi
4
 
other variations: 1 2
Printed in $ TIX
Ikoria: Lair of Behemoths $1.99 $2.51 €2.41 n/a 0.25
Ikoria: Lair of Behemoths $2.80 $8.47 €2.38 n/a
Ikoria: Lair of Behemoths Promos $3.17 $3.74 €2.49 n/a
Ikoria: Lair of Behemoths Promos

Narset of the Ancient Way

legendary planeswalker narset discard card draw card life gain

Legendary Planeswalker - Narset

+1: You gain 2 life. Add {U}, {R}, or {W}. Spend this mana only to cast a noncreature spell.
−2: Draw a card, then you may discard a card. When you discard a nonland card this way, Narset of the Ancient Way deals damage equal to that card's mana value to target creature or planeswalker.
−6: You get an emblem with "Whenever you cast a noncreature spell, this emblem deals 2 damage to any target."

drawn by Yongjae Choi

Part of the Ikoria: Lair of Behemoths set, number 195 out of 387 cards.

Rulings

  • 2020-04-17

    Because it’s a loyalty ability, Narset’s first ability isn’t a mana ability. It can be activated only any time you could cast a sorcery. It uses the stack and can be responded to.

  • 2020-04-17

    Narset’s second ability goes on the stack without a target. While that ability is resolving, you draw a card and may choose to discard a card. When you discard a nonland card this way, the reflexive triggered ability triggers and you pick a target to be dealt damage. This is different from effects that say “If you do . . .” in that you choose a target after looking at the card you draw and players can respond to the reflexive triggered ability knowing how much damage will be dealt.

  • 2020-04-17

    You can discard a card even if Narset leaves the battlefield before her middle ability resolves. The reflexive triggered ability will still trigger if you discard a nonland card.

  • 2020-04-17

    If a card you discard has {X} in its mana cost, X is considered to be 0.

  • 2020-04-17

    An ability that triggers when a player casts a spell resolves before the spell that caused it to trigger. It resolves even if that spell is countered.

  • 2020-04-17

    The emblem created by Narset’s last ability is colorless. The damage it deals is from a colorless source.

Also printed in these other sets

Be the first to add a comment

In main board

most recently submitted decks

In side board

most recently submitted decks

Nobody has this card in their collection.

Nobody has this card in their wishlist.