Gray Merchant of Asphodel
Creature — Zombie
When Gray Merchant of Asphodel enters the battlefield, each opponent loses X life, where X is your devotion to black. You gain life equal to the life lost this way. (Each {B} in the mana costs of permanents you control counts toward your devotion to black.)
Scott Murphy
2/4
 
other variations: 1 2
Printed in $ TIX
Theros Beyond Death $0.32 $0.57 €0.20 n/a 0.01
Theros Beyond Death $2.33 $4.24 €0.32 n/a
Mystery Booster $0.38 n/a
Commander 2014 $0.67 €0.21 n/a 4.27
Theros $0.32 $5.64 €0.24 €3.54 0.02

Gray Merchant of Asphodel

basic creature zombie devotion life gain life loss

Basic Creature - Zombie

When Gray Merchant of Asphodel enters the battlefield, each opponent loses X life, where X is your devotion to black. You gain life equal to the life lost this way. (Each {B} in the mana costs of permanents you control counts toward your devotion to black.)

drawn by Scott Murphy

Part of the Theros Beyond Death set, number 99 out of 358 cards.

Rulings

  • 2020-01-24

    The amount of life you gain is the total amount of life lost, not simply the value of X.

  • 2020-01-24

    In a Two-Headed Giant game, each opposing team loses twice X life.

  • 2020-01-24

    Colorless and generic mana symbols ({C}, {0}, {1}, {2}, {X}, and so on) in mana costs of permanents you control don’t count toward your devotion to any color.

  • 2020-01-24

    Mana symbols in the text boxes of permanents you control don’t count toward your devotion to any color.

  • 2020-01-24

    Hybrid mana symbols, monocolored hybrid mana symbols, and Phyrexian mana symbols do count toward your devotion to their color(s).

  • 2020-01-24

    If an activated ability or triggered ability has an effect that depends on your devotion to a color, you count the number of mana symbols of that color among the mana costs of permanents you control as the ability resolves. The permanent with that ability will be counted if it’s still on the battlefield at that time.

  • 2020-01-24

    If you put an Aura on an opponent’s permanent, you still control the Aura, and mana symbols in its mana cost count towards your devotion.

Also printed in these other sets

Be the first to add a comment

In main board

most recently submitted decks

In side board

most recently submitted decks

Nobody has this card in their collection.

Nobody has this card in their wishlist.